New Year’s Eve countdowns around the world

The nations of the Pacific island of Tonga, Samoa and Kiribati were the first to see in the new year – when it was still 05:00 on the east coast of the United States on December 31 and 11 o’clock UTC (Coordinated Universal Time, the global standard)). New Zealand was next, an hour later.

American Samoa, just 20 km from Samoa, but in a completely different time zone, has to wait a full day before seeing 2021.
39 different local times are used – including two that are UTC more than 12 hours ahead – which means it takes 26 hours for the whole world to enter the New Year.
So, if you really, really, really likes to hum ‘Auld Lang Syne’, the list below will get you in the mood – over and over and over.

This is when the world was and will be in the new year, with respect to the east coast time.

Tuesday 31 December 2019

05:00 ET Samoa, Tonga and Cherry Island / Kiribati

5:15 am Chatham Islands / New Zealand

06:00 New Zealand (with a few exceptions) and five more places / islands

Fireworks explode over Hagley Park in Christchurch, New Zealand, during New Year's celebrations in 2021. New Zealand and its South Pacific neighbors have no COVID-19, and New Year's celebrations there are the same as ever.

7 vm Small region of Russia and seven more places

8 am Lots of Australia and seven more (including Melbourne and Sydney)

Fireworks explode across the Sydney Opera House and Harbor Bridge to ring in 2021.  One million people will usually gather around Sydney Harbor to watch the annual fireworks display centered on the Sydney Harbor Bridge.  But this year, authorities advised the revealers to watch the fireworks on television.

8:30 am Small region of Australia (including Adelaide)

9 a.m. Queensland / Australia and six others (including Brisbane)

9:30 am Northern Territory / Australia (including Alice Springs)

10 a.m. Japan, South Korea and four more

10:15 am Western Australia / Australia

11 a.m. China, Philippines and 10 others

Noon Lots of Indonesia, Thailand and seven more

12:30 pm. Myanmar and Cocos Islands

13:00 Bangladesh and six more

13:15 Nepal

13:30 India and Sri Lanka

14:00 Pakistan and eight more

14:30 Afghanistan

3 nm Azerbaijan and eight others

3:30 pm Iran

4 nm Moscow / Russia and 22 more

17:00 Greece and 31 more (Egypt, South Africa and Romania included)

18:00 Germany and another 45 (including Algeria, Italy, Belgium and France)

19:00 United Kingdom and another 24 (including Portugal and Iceland)

20:00 Cape Verde and two more

9 nm Regions of Brazil and South Georgia / Sandwich Islands

22:00 Most of Brazil, Angetina and nine more

22:30 Newfoundland and Labrador / Canada

23:00 Some regions of Canada and 28 more

Wednesday 1 January 2020

Midnight US (East Coast) and Cuba

01:00 US (Central), Mexico and nine more

02:00 US (Mountain) and two more

3 vm US (Pacific) and four more

4 vm USA (Alaska) and regions of French Polynesia

04:30 Marquesas Islands / French Polynesia

5 am. US (Hawaii) and two more

06:00 American Samoa and two others

7 vm Many of the U.S. minor remote islands (non-occupied U.S. territories in the Pacific)